Skip to main content

online educational seminar "The Epigenetics Challenge: DNA Methylation Research from Basics to Biomarkers."

Thursday, October 21, 2010, in a live, online educational seminar, "The Epigenetics Challenge: DNA Methylation Research from Basics to Biomarkers."

Date: Thursday, October 21, 2010
Time: 12:00 noon ET; 9:00 a.m. PT; 4:00 p.m. GMT
Duration: 1 hour

Register now and submit your questions LIVE to the experts during the webinar!

For more information and complimentary registration visit:
www.sciencemag.org/webinar

Webinar Description

Epigenetics is being recognized as an increasingly important area of research that involves an understanding of the molecular mechanisms that influence the phenotypic outcome of the genome without alteration of the DNA sequence. These effects are mediated by the covalent attachment of chemical groups to DNA and its associated histone proteins. Such modifications, including methylation, acetylation, ubiquitination, and phosphorylation, often result in the alteration of gene expression levels that determine cell fate. Epigenetic marks are somatically inherited and therefore can be passed on as diseased cells replicate. In this webinar, viewers will gain insight into the current status of epigenetics research, with an emphasis on understanding the mechanism and effects of DNA methylation. Current methods associated with epigenetics research will be discussed, as well as how these technologies are advancing the development of new diagnostics and biomarkers.

During the webinar, our panelists will:
• Provide an overview of the various methods associated with study of the epigenome.
• Discuss how these technologies can be applied to the development of diagnostics and therapeutics.
• Answer a selection of questions provided by webinar viewers.

Register at:
www.sciencemag.org/webinar
Produced by the Science/AAAS Business Office and sponsored by New England Biolabs, Inc.